Current Committee

2020 Newcastle Business Club Committee
The Newcastle Business Club is able to function only through the hard work and dedication of a volunteer committee.
Jim Garis

Jim Garis


The Garis Group
Consulting Accountant

0414 526 487

Jim is the founder of The Garis Group, a professional family owned and operated financial services firm.

“The Garis group aims to build a strong and continuous relationship with its clients built on our valuable, personal, technical and knowledgeable expertise”

The Garis Group are proud partners of B1G1 – Business for Good

Jim is the current Treasurer of the Hamilton Chamber of Commerce, Deputy Chairman of The Newcastle Tourism Industry Group, and a Director of the Hunter Business Chamber.

2022 is Jim’s fourth year on the committee.

Jessica Cole

Jessica Cole

Senior Vice President

Cole Consulting Group

0423 253 171

Founder of Cole Consulting Group and focused on bringing quality financial information to businesses without the fuss. She is passionate about change and continuous improvement and her process improvement initiatives have seen her consulting in Canada and the United States, and presenting at the Association for Manufacturing Excellence seminar in Melbourne.

Jessica previously led the Virtual CFO and Bookkeeping division for a local accounting practice with a portfolio of clients across varied industries. She draws on her extensive experience working in a commercial role as a Financial Account and Commercial Manager for a global company, responsible for leading the Accounts Payable and Receivable teams, Reporting and pricing strategies to name a few. Jessica is grateful for her experience working in two local Chartered Accounting firms specialising in Business Services and Taxation and is a registered Tax Agent with the Tax Practitioner Board.

Jessica holds a Bachelor of Commerce, a Masters of Business Administration (Marketing Major) and a Graduate Certificate in Competitive Systems and Practices.

This is Jessica’s second year on the committee. 

Liz Murray

Liz Murray

Junior Vice President

Edge of Possibilities

0439 598 944

Liz is a proud Novocastrian who started her business Edge of Possibilities (Leadership Coaching, Training and Mentoring) in 2017. After over 20 years in Leadership, Liz appreciates the value of empowering leaders to achieve success through increased self-awareness and an ongoing focus on strengthening emotional intelligence. Liz is passionate about collaborating with exceptional Leaders to inspire their teams to thrive with confidence and certainty.

Liz loves an early start to watch the sunrise, spending time with her family and bushwalking.

This is Liz’s second year on the committee.

Samantha Miller

Samantha Miller


Clarity Lawyers
Director, Principal Lawyer

0402 253 080

Samantha has been a lawyer since 2001 having followed in the steps of her father, grandfather, great-grandfather and great-great-grandfather. No one can say she didn’t know what she was getting into!

Initially admitted in 2001 as a solicitor in NSW and Australia, Samantha then moved to the UK where she was admitted as a solicitor in England and Wales in 2002.

Samantha has been back in Newcastle since 2016 and since returning she has completed a Master of Applied Law (Majoring in Family Law) ensuring that her legal knowledge is comprehensive and completely up to date.

Samantha thrives on taking people from what is sometimes one of the most vulnerable moments in their lives through to being able to plan and see a happy future ahead of them.

Outside of work Samantha has a husband, three daughters and a dachshund named Keith. They keep themselves busy in the outdoors and particularly enjoy holidays in their VW campervan.

Steph Jordan

Steph Jordan


Dalton Partners Real Estate
Sales Consultant

0413 452 297

Stephanie is a local Novocastrian who grew up in New Lambton. She studied Business at Newcastle University and worked in the construction industry for seven years before a passion for property prompted a career change to Residential Real Estate Sales.

Stephanie has since been at Dalton Partners New Lambton office where she believes in providing exceptional communication and customer service to her clients.

This is Stephanie’s fifth year on the committee.

Jodi O'Connor

Jodi O'Connor

Committee Member // Event Administration


Managing Director

0467 550 600

Jodi is the joint founder and Managing Director of local branding and design studio Ronnoco. Her background covers 25 years as a graphic designer, project manager, business analyst and Adobe InDesign trainer. She is passionate about connecting businesses with their audience through strategic brand development with clarity, substance and authenticity.

Jodi enjoys spending time with family and friends, swimming, cooking and supporting the local community.

This is Jodi’s fifth year on the committee.

Holly Martin

Holly Martin

Committee Member

The Marketing GP
Managing Director

0403 293 880

Holly is the Managing Director of local consultancy, The Marketing GP, as well as the General Manager of local business news website Hunter Headline.

Holly has been a Club member since 2002 and Committee Member since 2004. She was the Junior Vice-President and Editor of VISION magazine and undertook a number of marketing and event management tasks for the Club. In 2018 she was President of the Club and is now a Past President and continuing committee member.