Annual Awards

In Recognition of Significant Contributions to the Community


The Newcastle Business Club Annual Awards recognise a younger (under 35) person, an individual and a company/organisation each year who have made a significant contribution toward the commonweal of Newcastle and the Hunter Region. Whether that is through the improvement of industry, culture, education, sport or the overall commonweal of the citizens of Newcastle.

As part of the presentation, winners are gifted a framed image that outlines why they have been awarded, as well as a print of The Summer House, by E.Hilda Rix-Nicholas The painting measures 81.3 cm by 89.1 cm and was painted on a property in the Monara District in about 1931. The original painting was purchased in 1976 by the Newcastle Business Club and presented to Newcastle Region Art Gallery for the benefit of the people of the region. It is a lasting gift to mark the inauguration of the Annual Award to an individual and/or organisation from the region who (or which) has made a major contribution to the commonweal of the city.

Nomination Form – Organisation
Nomination Form – Individual
Nomination Form – Youth

Nominations close at 5.00pm on Tuesday, 28 September 2021

2021 Annual Awards sponsored by the Port of Newcastle.

The awards event is to be held on 4pm, Tuesday, 5 October, 2021 – book now for the FREE Virtual Event.



Past Winners

Individual: Marty Adnum
Organisation: Newy Burger Co
Youth: Irini-Stephania Kassas

Individual: Catherine Henry
Organisation: Soul Cafe
Youth: Joel Pilgram

Individual: Colin Law
Organisation: Out of the Square Media
Youth: Lloyd Valentine

Individual: Jillian Dwyer
Organisation: The Man Shake
Youth: Hanna Barry

Individual: Jon Chin
Organisation: The Mark Hughes Foundation
Youth: Chris Thornton

Keith Stronach
Organisation: Compass Housing
Youth: Andy Howard

Neil Slater
Organisation: Maroba Caring Communities
Youth: Anthony Laskovski

WEJ Paradice
Youth: Dr Rohan Walker
Organisation: Harris Wheeler Lawyers

John Coyle
Youth: Steph Hinds
Organisation: University of Newcastle

Mike Rabbitt
Organisation: Hunter Development Corporation

Rhonda Scruton
Organisation: Renew Newcastle

Eddie Cross
Organisation: BreastScreen NSW Hunter New England Health

Professor Trevor Waring
Organisation: Newcastle Permanent Building Society

Warren Smith
Organisation: Newcastle Airport

Dr William Bowmore
Organisation: Piano Australia – Stuart & Sons

Lee Shearer
Organisation: HunterValleyGardens

Roy Watson
Organisation: Newcastle Cruising Yacht Club

Adele Saunders
Organisation: Hunter Medical Research Institute

Frank Rigby
Organisation: Newcastle Newspapers

Yahoo Serious
Organisation: Radio 2NC 1233

2000 Newcastle’s Famous Tram

1999 Westpac Rescue Helicopter Service

1998 Tyrrells Wines

1997 Newcastle Knights

1996 Port Waratah Coal Services

1995 John McNaughton and Margaret McNaughton

1994 Cowan Manufacturing

1993 Ampcontrol Pty Limited

1992 Tomago Aluminium

1991 Faculty of Medicine, University of Newcastle

1990 Newcastle Knights

1989 AWS Frigate Consortium and Support Group

1988 Newcastle City Council

1987 Richard Owens

1986 Dart Australia Pty Limited

1985 BHP Limited

1984 Newcastle Permanent Building Society

1983 Howard Smith Limited

1982 Professor Cyril Renwick

1981 Carrington Slipways Pty Limited

1980 NBN Television

1979 Alex Young

1978 KB United Soccer Club

1977 Eric Lingard


History of the Awards

In 1975 Newcastle Business Club recognised that there were many organisations and individuals that were making significant contributions to the region.

That year, under the Presidency of David Le Marchant, and with the assistance of John McNaughton and Cliff McDonald – the Club decided to make an annual award to a business, organisation or an individual who had made a significant contribution toward the improvement of industry, culture, education, sport or the wellbeing or commonweal of the citizens of the city of Newcastle.

In the same year, the Newcastle Region Art Gallery project was underway and the Club decided to make a presentation to the Gallery of a major work of art titled “The Summerhouse” by Hilda Rix-Nicholas.

The painting remains an integral part of the Club’s award process. Each year the award recipient is provided with a framed award, which includes a miniature copy of the Rix-Nicholas Summer House painting.

The painting symbolises a commitment by this Club and its members to the people of this region and importantly helps us to keep a strong tradition of recognising those who have contributed to the commonweal of the city.

In 2012, under the Presidency of Daniel Quinn and with the assistance of committee member Greg Valentine, the Club also decided to introduce a Youth award, to recognise young people who are striving to make a difference in our community.

In 2018, under the Presidency of Holly Martin, the Club collaborated with The Equal Futures Project to deliver the Hunter Diversity Awards.